In pursuit of good food

The other week I was in the pub with Gary, a work colleague, when the conversation turned to food. Gary was appalled but sympathetic towards my apathetic attitude toward food. “Cheese, all you need is cheese” I proclaimed after 3 wines. But no, even I’ll admit that’s not good enough. Anyone who wants to live a healthy, happy and balanced life should pay attention to what oil they’re putting in the tank. It’s common sense and Gary was right. My attitude smelt worse than someone chowing down on a Burger King meal deal on the tube at 1 am.

Wait, it gets worse.

My Dad is a greengrocer. I have an unlimited supply of fruit and vegetables and still, I’m falling prey to laziness, apathy and a general resistance when it comes to feeding myself properly. The truth is, food is an essential ingredient to a balanced life and so many of us are ignoring its importance.

Fear not!

Now, with the help of Gary, I have a plan. Well, I have the beginning of a plan. Gary’s given me 6 recipes to get me started. These recipes are cheap, hopefully yummy, and the aim is to inspire myself to fall in love with cooking in the hope that I can save money, eat better and have more energy. Less ‘Mehh’, more ‘Mmm’ – that’s the kind of thing I’m going for.

Stay tuned for the first recipe. I’ve already made some of them, but I realised after that I didn’t make them while considering pictures and writing the recipes up for my blog!

The 6 recipes I’ll be sharing with you are:

  1. Chicken Burgers
  2. Pork and Sesame meatballs
  3. Chicken Teriyaki
  4. Homemade Hamburgers
  5. Chicken Broth
  6. Spaghetti Carbonara

 

 

One thought on “In pursuit of good food

Leave a Reply

